注册
搜索
热搜: shell linux mysql
查看: 1724|回复: 20

关于ULTEO的好消息

[复制链接]
发表于 2006-4-5 23:35:17 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式
Hi everybody,

for sure there is not much information about Ulteo because I don't want to be accused of vaporware  and because it's better to talk about a concept when there is a "material" instance of this concept. As a result, I'll unveil the whole thing when a first alpha-beta version will be available. Of course, many of you guessed it, Ulteo won't be "only" a new Linux distribution. This would be quite useless!

Well... here is an information! I'm currently working to port my Ulteo tests to a debian-base. We won't start from scratch for sure! Well, an Ubuntu base in fact! No need for now to describe all the reasons which convinced me to think about this switch (especially cos I *may* switch back to a Mandriva-base ).  The issue is that I'm not an expert with Ubuntu/Debian technologies, but I'm learning. I want to start upon Kubuntu because it's the closest distro to my previous hacks in Mandriva regarding apps and look & feel. And after the first release, extend the project to a GNOME-base as well.

Anyway, currently I'm in a hurry and certainly need help. In short: I don't like the way that removable devices are handled in Ubuntu. It reminds me Mandrake 5.1 when no other options were possible. I far prefer the Mandriva way. We need a system that doesn't lock the CD inside the drive. There are other issues as well, linked to hotplug capabilities. I don't want to spend my time on these points, I have to focus on system integration and net services. So if someone has the skills, please get in touch with me or connect me!

Other: internationalization could also be better managed. It's less important for now, but if someone is interested...

See you.

Gaël (gduval at ulteo dot com)